top of page

Philosophy of Education


I’m everywhere, my thoughts are bouncy off of each other like electrons; creating friction and ideas. Liv and I always do this, say our good mornings and then jump into some philosophical whirlwind that has me thinking about too many things too write and too fast to keep up. However, I will have plenty of time to write and reflect on our travels to Chile tomorrow morning. I love travel days. We have finished our philosophy of education papers and naturally are reflecting. Our companions Speaser and Patrick aren’t here to reflect with us. They happily, are heading to Chile early to prepare for 32 teenagers who will more than likely be ravenous by the time we get there. Grocery shopping for that many kids is not the most pleasant of experiences, needless to say I’m stoked to be reflecting here, wearing this cozy wool sweater. The plane leaves tomorrow morning. But let’s talk about why I’m writing today, my philosophy of education. I know its something I’m passionate about but finally finding the words and structure to say, this is what I believe education should be and how we ought to be teaching individuals is showing me more about myself, things I was so sure I knew, until now reflecting on them. In a sense I have using the skills I have learned from my experiences and am now teaching myself things about myself. Writing allows me to do this and for many they will find their own way of doing this. Teaching has only recently become something I’ve been considering. The more I do it the more I love it. We need for teachers to teach compassion and have the ability to evolve over time. I am not one to teach from the book. I let my emotions lead me more often than not. Giving learners the skills to reflect on them self and take failure and learn from it are the skills I am more focused on. Not how well they did on the test but how honest they are with themselves. Standardized teaching lacks where the students need the most from us as educators. I find purpose in these gaps. I love what I do and I'm finding I do have knowledge to bring to students. 1. How to cope when things fall apart 2. Skills to communicate 3. Learning from our failures and being proud of our mistakes! 4. Feeling vulnerable inside and outside 5. Stress management and when to take a break 6. How you learn and how you lead 7. The difference between what we want and what we need 8. The beauty of being different finding exactly what that is 9. COMPASSION, love people and don’t eat animals 10. Nature is the best teacher Epiphany: many of these teachings have been from experience in the outdoors. We learn so many unplanned things and out there and I’m now realizing that is teachings aren’t expected or on the agenda to teach for that day but instead coming to us when they need to. We teach ourselves so much, nature has the ability to amplify these epiphanies. But we don’t always realize them while we are in nature. Having the tools to reflect on a time once spent in the woods is more beneficial than taking what you think you learned from the first experience and then putting it a box under your bed, archived. Reflection takes patients and review of constantly rereading the page and then again. No wonder I’m such a die hard fan! The mountains in Eastern Oregon, the Deschutes River, and the Santiam pass have taught me more than any class I had ever taken in high school. I am feeling so elated to be traveling to Chile. To return to my teacher, I’ll see you soon.

I wrote a poem for Laura's Teaching Fellow class in reflection of my time spent in the Southwest; maybe I'll turn it into a song one day.

I migrated south in the back of a van

with Abbey and kerouac in both of my hands

A list of desires and goals I had planned

Looking for crystals when I was the sand

I break and I bend with ever slot canyon

As I study a meandering stream

The glacial flow is all that I know

When I should have been studying me

I clambered a mesa listening to sandstone

Quoting its granular scale

I thought pursuits would bring me satisfaction

when I was left barren and stale

I dream of the Sal’s and hydrothermal veins

finding pieces of my rigid self in the eroded pains

wanting to flow like a alluvial flame

knowing vulnerability was what made me brave

I break and I bend with ever slot canyon

As I study a meandering stream

The glacial flow is all that I know

When I should have been studying me

After my trip I flowed like the river

the one that bathed me and made me shiver

Shaking like aspen, as they dance and quiver

no longer a halite, I was no longer bitter

The history of the river and my body combined

Interlaced with each other our aching in line

Feeling like this story was finally mine

A beautiful delta forming with time

deposit,

wash out,

deposit..

Accepting my life as a sedimentary line


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page