top of page

#1 Expedition Weekend


Liv and I are up and adam this morning. I’m trying to ween myself off of coffee so she is letting me experience her maté. Maybe it will become more of a hobby than a part time job when I get to Chile. Here we are, another week at the Alzar school. This weekend was full of skiing, snow shoeing and adventures for los estudiantes. I’m having a blast and at the same time I have to remind myself this isn’t my experience. It’s mostly for the kiddos, they are really coming into themselves and el grupo. I dream of what my life will be after this. I never really feel like I’m carrying much over into my new phase of life but when I reflect to years ago, I see there are differences. It's in my speech and the way I carry myself. I’m waiting for you Patagonia and I’m ready. Listening to everyone talk about their experiences, especially Liv, only validate why I’ve felt so drawn to the place my whole life. I want to see it’s cultivators and hear the stories from its people. Once again, I want to become the land and emerge myself in it’s flora, sink into it’s subduction zone, rise into it’s mountains and cut it’s glacial valleys, while doing so I want to feel lonely and strong because I’ll grow here. Comfort is not a promise but movement is. I find my solitude in the constant expansion of the universe and the recycling it’s matter. The mate must be getting to me... Updates from the weekend:

We skied at Brundage and it snowed the whole day before, you know what that means. So much sendy! The students had a great time and I got to snowboard with some fellow boarders while we were there. I skied the best day of my life, the powder really transforms what I can do on a board. The sounds where most wind and snowfall but also filled with lovely conversations about ski culture and privilege. These kids are so smart and aware in ways that I’m not sure I was when I was their age. It’s inspiring to be surrounded by them, especially the one’s I get to have vegan discussions with. I know it’s what fuels me sometimes, to be able to conjure questions for them and make them really think about the reality of our country. The next day we went snow shoeing, which was a magical snow wonderland. It snowed practically all day and everyone was in good spirits about it I will say. My toes were cold but where else would I rather be than surrounded by my beloved ponderosa pines and vanilla aromas. I won’t get to see them much longer. I’m so intrigued to see the flora and fauna of Chile. I almost forgot to mention the outrageous snowball fight we had! Yes, sabado was a day of learning and play. I often forget that we are in a structured school, until the end of the day when all the students go to their study hall so obediently. Future leaders I hope they be. Cheers,


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page