top of page

Sending Solidarity to the Women's March


The women's march was a few days ago and I feel like this part of the world is turning the volume down. It’s inspiring, loud, exciting but no one is listening here. I feel ashamed for having experiences that give me an uneasiness around men and so unsure of their intentions. I stay ‘cute’ ‘harmless’ but I’m burning. What would my parents say? these people say? It’s that which keeps me quiet when I have been writing about these things for too long. Off hand comments, verbal abuse, sexual harassment and rape. We all hear the news but its so detached from the actually experiences that are everlasting with me, with us. It makes me feel hazy in my path, whether I earned these things, if I’m safe. Will I ever love someone who respects me? and why do I feel like it’s my fault? I should know better and I should know myself. I tell myself these things but WE should know better above everything else. I dream of a day where I feel comfortable in a room alone with a man. I wish I could be there sobbing over commonality. I look at the students here and pray to something they never have to live in a world where they are manipulated and used and I never pray for anything. Listen to the stories, don’t talk, just listen.

-Lauren


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page