top of page

First post from the Long Valley County


I realized this morning that I was in a different place, physically my body is adjusting with every run and climb, movement is exciting. There's so much still unknown to us but we're learning everyday. I live in a yurt with Liv, a friend of a friend from school, and its become so much of a home. We're currently sitting by our wood-stove surrounded by these canvas walls separating us and the world that is Cascade, Idaho. I'm working on an assortment of things intermingled with procrastinating for this weekend. The students are coming! I guess if I haven't told you in person you have no context to the things I am talking about, so here we go..

Welcome to my blog! This is officially my first blog post so hopefully my skills will improve along the way. These days I am working for the Alzar School as a teaching fellow, meaning I am learning to be a teacher. The Alzar School isn't just any school however, it's located in rural Idaho and takes high school students on a cultural exchange to Chile and into Patagonia. We take the kids whitewater rafting, skiing, snowshoeing, backpacking and through courses centered around experiential learning. The schools motto is shaping leaders for the future and I am feeling very fortunate to find myself here, impacting the lives of people I would have never met otherwise.

Not only is this a journey for the students, it is a journey hopefully leading some of us to conclusions we weren't exposed to before. I don't know where I will be in 10 years, I don't know where I will be in 5 years, I don't know where I'll be in 6 months and that is so thrilling to me. Like I said, movement is exciting and this life I have created after graduating from the University of Puget Sound is something I'm proud of. Something I probably would not have written to myself several months ago. So if you find yourself still reading this, thanks friends! You'll soon find that I am very unapologetic about my personal life, but somewhere my family is reading this wondering what the heck I'm up to so it's got to be a little personal. Cheers!

-Lauren

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page